Eric Raymon- Raymon Law Group-New Mexico Trial Attorney Logo
5-STAR GOOGLE REVIEWS

ALBUQUERQUE TRIAL BLOG

At Raymon Law Group, we know how to listen. And after hearing everything you have to say, we’ll come up with the best strategy to win your case.
Raymon Law Group- Personal Injury and Criminal Defense Attorney New Mexico Awards and honors

What Happens if You Lose a Criminal Case in New Mexico?

What Happens if You Lose a Criminal Case in New Mexico? If you’re facing a criminal defense case in New Mexico, losing may feel like the end of the world. However, it’s essential to remember that having a skilled and dedicated New Mexico criminal defense attorney on your side can make all the difference. The outcome of your case will depend on various factors, including the type of offense you’re charged with, the circumstances of the alleged offense, and your criminal history (if any). With a hardworking attorney who genuinely cares about your case, you can navigate the legal system and strive for a favorable outcome. Trust in the expertise and dedication of your attorney, and remember that even if the outcome isn’t what you hoped for, it’s not the end of the world.

Examples of Misdemeanor Convictions in New Mexico

Examples of class one misdemeanors include DUI, criminal damage, assault and disorderly conduct.  Examples of class two misdemeanors include certain types of assault, departing the scene of an accident and reckless driving.  Driving at an egregiously high rate of speed is considered to be criminal speeding that qualifies as a class three misdemeanor.

Penalties for Misdemeanors

While not as severe as a felony, a New Mexico misdemeanor can still result in significant punishment. Misdemeanors are classified by severity, with class one misdemeanors being the most serious and class three misdemeanors being the least severe. For example, a class one misdemeanor in New Mexico can lead to up to six months in jail, a fine of $2,500 or less, and three years of probation. However, a DUI misdemeanor carries the potential for up to five years of probation.

It’s important to take any criminal charge seriously, regardless of the severity. Working with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney can help you understand the charges against you and work towards the best possible outcome.

Class two misdemeanors have a penalty of upwards of four months in jail, two years of probation and a fine of $750.  Surcharges can be added to this fine, making the financial pain of the conviction sting all the more.  The maximum penalty for a class three misdemeanor is 30 days in jail, upwards of a full year of probation and a $500 fine including a surcharge.

Choose Your New Mexico Criminal Defense Attorney Wisely

If you’re facing criminal charges in New Mexico, it’s crucial to understand the high stakes of a conviction and carefully consider the merits of local criminal defense attorneys. Knowing the potential punishment can provide an opportunity to consider plea offers and steer your case in a specific direction. It’s important not to assume that you will automatically be found guilty or that the punishment will be light. Instead, meeting with an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you review all options, including a potential appeal, and make an informed decision about how to move forward.

Don’t leave your future to chance; trust in the expertise of a skilled criminal defense attorney to help you navigate the legal system and work towards the best possible outcome for your case.

Criminal & Personal Injury Attorneys

Get a FREE Strategy Session and Case Review

    Please prove you are human by selecting the key.

    Categories

    Car Accidents
    Dog Bites
    Negligence
    Personal Injury
    Settlements
    Truck Accidents
    Premises Liability
    Boating Accidents
    Motorcycle Accidents